Champions Crowned at Sam Adams

Submitted by: Ron Smith - April 6th, 2014


Lindsay Schwartz

Lindsay Schwartz

Competing at the Sam Adams Combined Events Invitational, Lindsey Schwartz of the Santa Barbara Track Club claimed first place in the women’s heptathlon “A” group and Becky Collier of Westmont won the women’s heptathlon “B” group.

In the men’s decathlon J. Patrick Smith, a Dos Pueblos High School graduate from Chico State, claimed first in the “A” group with 7,351 points. Drayke Jackson of Sacred Heart (Conn.) claimed first in the “B” group with 6,205 points.

Schwarz’ total of 5,942 points is her second best time ever and serves to qualify her for the 2014 USA Track and Field Championships this coming June. Taking second in the “A” group was Lindsay Lettow who tallied 5,674 points while Shana Woods of Chula Vista Elite placed third with 5,668 points.

In the second day events for the “A” heptathlon group, Woods finished first in the long jump with a distance of 6.26 meters (20-6.5), establishing a new stadium record. Schwartz was second with a jump of 5.95 meters (19-6.25) and Kiani Profit placed third at 5.87 meters (19-3.25).

It was a French sweep in the “A” group women’s javelin. The winner was Antoinette Nana Djimou with a throw of 43.50 meters (142-8). Marisa De Aniceto placed second at 42.56 meters (139-7) and Laura Artiel was third with 42.47 meters (139-4).

In the final event of the heptathlon, Profit posted a time of 2:11.28 to claim first place. Schwartz was second, crossing the finish line in a time of 2:16.71. Madellaine Buttinger of Toronto was third with a time of 2:16.78.

Collier’s mark of 4,824 points establishes a new Westmont record and is the highest total of any NAIA athlete this season. Collier exceeded Westmont’s previous record by 543 points. Sarah Skipper of Santa Barbara Track Club tallied 4,791 points to claim second place in the “B” group with Point Loma Nazarene’s Lindsay Honea taking third with 4,563 points. Westmont’s Kristan Holding recorded a personal best 4,338 points for fifth place and Lorien Patmore finished ninth with 3,787 points.

In the “B” heptathlon group, Nicole Bartosch of Sacred Heart and Skipper had the best marks in the long jump with a distance of 5.34 meters (17-6.25). Collier placed third with a jump of 5.23 meters (17-2).

Collier was the winner in the “B” heptathlon javelin, recording a throw of 31.86 meters (104-6). Honea threw for 30.69 meters (100-8) to take second and Justine Kueffner of Westminster grabbed third with a throw of 28.99 meters (95-1).

The “B” heptathlon 800 meters was won by Bartosch in a time of 2:24.71. Skipper was third in 2:26.68 and Honea was third, finishing with a time of 2:27.14.

Placing second behind Smith in the decathlon “A” group was Reinis Krugers of Kansas State with 7,304 points. Third place went to John Brunk of Chico State with 7,262 points, Brunk edged out teammate Theodore Elsenbaumer by just two points.

The second day events started with the 110 meter hurdles. Gunner Nixon of Adidas claimed first in the “A” group with a time of 14.66 meters. Brandon Nassett of Samford (Ala.) was second with a time of 15.18 meters. Crossing the line with the third fastest time was Elsenbaumer in 15.28 seconds.

France swept the discus in the decathlon “A” group, beginning with Mathias Ako Bienes who throw for 47.32 meters (155-3). Second place belonged to Jeremy Lelievre with a mark of 43.74 meters (143-6). Third went to Bastien Auziel with a throw of 43.04 (141-2).

Ako Bienes also won the pole vault, clearing 4.80 meters (15-9). In second was Brunk with a height of 4.60 meters (15-1) while Smith was third with a mark of 4.30 meters (14-1.25)

The javelin was won by Krugers with a throw of 57.89 meters (189-11). Tom FitzSimons of Santa Barbara Track Club delivered a throw of 55.06 meters (180-08) that earned him a second place finish. Third went to Elsenbaumer with a distance of 53.14 meters.

Brunk, FitzSimons and Elsenbaumer claimed first, second and third in the “A” group 1500 meters with times of 4:35.90, 4:37.53 and 4:37.67 respectively.

In the decathlon “B” group, Drayke was followed by Ben McCollum of Westmont who notched 5,942 points for second place and Gregory Hazell of Sacred Heart in third with 5,855 points. Westmont’s Bradford Ortlund finished fifth with 5,751 points. Kyle Kemper of Westmont tied Ben Gillmore of La Verne for sixth place with 5,544 point.

In the “B” group 110 meter hurdles, Drayke claimed first place with a time of 15.55. Hazell was second in a time of 15.85. Ortlund was third across the line with a mark of 16.19.

Jason Nicholls of La Verne was the farthest discus thrower, taking first with a mark of 39.77 meters (130-6). David Burton, competing unattached, notched second with a throw of 33.19. Payton Lewis of Vertical Elite was third with a 32.28 meter mark (105-11).

Nicholls also won the pole vault, clearing 4.20 meters (13-9.25). Jackson vaulted 4.10 meters (13-5.25) for second while Burton took third with a height of 4.00 meters (13-1.5)

The men’s javelin in the “B” group went to Gillmore who threw for 50.70 meters (166-4). Kemper’s throw of 50.52 meters earned him second place in the event while Burton took third with a throw of 47.17 (154-9).

The 1500 meters went to Hazell, Jackson and McCollum in first, second and third respectively with times of 4:42.62, 4:47.39 and 4:48.07.