Warriors Seeded #1 for Nationals

Submitted by: Ron Smith - November 14th, 2016


naiatournlogoAs announced today by the NAIA National Office, Westmont Volleyball (31-0, 16-0 GSAC) has been named the number one seed in the upcoming NAIA National Tournament. The Warriors, who are also ranked number one in the Final NAIA Coaches Poll released today, have received an opening round bye.

Westmont will travel to Sioux City, Iowa to begin Pool Play on November 29. As the number one seed, Westmont will compete in Pool A. In addition to Westmont, Pool A is expected to include #16 Indiana Wesleyan (34-2) and #17 Columbia (26-11). The fourth team in the pool will be the lowest-seeded team who wins an Opening Round game.

Indiana Wesleyan won the Crossroads League Regular Season Championship with a record of 18-0 before claiming the Crossroads League Tournament Championship and gaining an automatic berth into Nationals. The Wildcats and Warriors did not share any common opponents.

Indiana Wesleyan’s only losses this season came to #4 Lindsey Wilson by a score of 3-0 (25-14, 25-15, 25-13) on August 27 and to #2 Viterbo by a score of 3-2 (25-23, 27-29, 25-16, 25-27, 15-12) on October 15. The Wildcats have won their last 10 matches.

Columbia is the defending NAIA National Champion. Columbia finished third in the American Midwest Conference regular season with a 10-2 record. The Cougars earned an automatic berth into the NAIA National Tournament by winning the American Midwest Conference Tournament Championship, sweeping #6 Park (25-11, 25-21, 25-23) in the title game.

Columbia has played two GSAC teams this season. On August 27, Columbia fell to Biola 3-2 (25-16, 25-20, 16-25, 24-26, 15-11). Then on October 22, the Cougars upended Vanguard in straight sets (25-22, 25-21, 25-17). The Warriors and Cougars have played no other common opponents.

The top-two teams from each of the eight pools advance to a 16-team single elimination championship bracket. The first round and quarterfinals are to be played on Friday, December 2. The semifinals and championship matches will be played the following day.