Westmont Men’s Cross Country History

The Westmont cross country programs have built a distinctive history. Coach Jim Klein guided the Warriors from 1960-76, followed by Steve Hughes from 1977-79. Russell Smelley has served as the head coach since 1979.

The men’s team has advanced to the NAIA National Championships on 17 occasions, with 13 finishes in the top 16, including four in the top 10. They finished fourth in the nation in 1968, followed with a third place finish in 1969. On the regional level, the men’s program won five NAIA District III titles and have claimed four GSAC championships – the most recent in 2009. Individuals have also performed well, claiming a total of nine NAIA All-American honors and 39 NAIA Scholar-Athlete recognitions.

Dennis Savage
3-time Cross Country All-American