David K. Winter Honors Servant Leaders

Twelve students received David K. Winter Character through Servant Leadership Awards during a special ceremony April 18, 2002.

There were more than 80 nominations for the award, which was previously only open to juniors. This year, first-year and sophomore students were also eligible. Faculty, staff and other students nominated candidates who have demonstrated Christ-like character through acts of servant leadership.

The winners were first-year students Rebeccca Martin (Elburn, Ill.), Becky Peterson (Valley Center, Calif.), Kjesten Rubke (Greenville, Calif.) and Mikael Yankoski (Parker, Colo.).

The sophomore recipients were Alicia Burns (Gardnerville, Nev.), Lori Lester (San Diego, Calif.), Leigh Matthews (Castle Rock, Colo.) and Danny Vogt (Visalia, Calif.).

Jessica Bailey (Littleton, Colo.), Grace Chisholm (Alta Loma, Calif.), Derrick Lowe (Vallejo, Calif.) and Mariah Weigel (Gardnerville, Nev.) were the honorees from the junior class.

“We know Westmont does a good job recognizing intellectual achievement,” said Dana Sanders, director of the Leadership and Character Development department. “We want to do a better job at recognizing excellence in the heart and soul. Servant leadership is not something we just want to talk about, we want to put it into action. These students do just that.”

First-year and sophomore winners will receive a $2,000 scholarship; winners from the junior class will receive a $2,225 award with the condition that $250 be donated to a charity of their choice.

For more information, contact the student leadership office at (805) 565-7025, or the office of public affairs at 565-7057 or pubaffairs@westmont.edu.